jump to navigation

Half as much as tomorrow October 1, 2007

Posted by Jeff in Drollery.
trackback

Today at lunch, I heard “I Love You More Today Than Yesterday” on the radio.  It includes the following lyrics:

I love you more today than yesterday
But only half as much as tomorrow

This, of course, was the inspiration for the following careful, mathematical analysis:

If I love you half as much as tomorrow, that means I’ll love you twice as much tomorrow as today.  Since this song is played every day, I can only assume that I’ll love you twice as much the day after tomorrow as I will love you tomorrow.  That’s four times as much as today, my friend.

The day after that, I will love you eight times as much as I love you today, and if we carry this out through the end of the month, you’ll find that I will love you 1,073,741,824 times as much as I do today. Given that I’m merely human and have but a finite capacity for love, I love you only about one billionth as much as I will love you by the end of the month.

Relatively speaking, this means I’m really not that fond of you right now.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

